LibGuides: Local History Resources: Maps

Current Freeport Maps

2012 Map of Freeport
Source: 2012 Freeport Phonebook
Village of Freeport Coastal Map, 2013
Source: VOF Department of Public Works
Freeport's Waterways, 1996
Source: Al and Artie Grover
Nautical Chart, Freeport
Source: Al and Artie Grover

Tax Maps for the Village of Freeport

Tax Map for the Village of Freeport
Tax Maps of the Village of Freeport for the years 1915, 1925, 1929, and 1935.
These maps are owned by Freeport Historical Society.
more...less...
Maps were digitized by the Long Island University.

Historic Freeport Maps

1868, Freeport
Source: Pyle-Gray, Real Estate Co., 310 Ashland Place, Brooklyn, NY.
1868, Freeport
Source: Estate of Benjamin Smith, Recently Taken By South Shore Railroad Co., Surveyed by Delamater S. Denton.
1873, Freeport
Source: Atlas of Long Island, New York 1873. Beers, Comstock, & Cline.
1888, Freeport
1900, Freeport
Source: Freeport: Past and Present, With a Prospect of Its Future. Published by the Freeport Methodist Church, 1900.
1906, Charles H. Bedell Property
Courtesy of the Bedell Family.
1906, East of Ocean Avenue
Source: Atlas of Nassau County, Long Island. E. Belcher Hyde.
1906, Southern Part of Freeport
Source: Atlas of Nassau County, Long Island. E. Belcher Hyde.
1906, West Part of Ocean Avenue
Source: Atlas of Nassau County, Long Island. E. Belcher Hyde.
1908, Freeport
1914, Freeport (Northeast Section, including Bennington Park and North Main Street)
Source: E. Belcher Hyde.
1914, Freeport (Northwest Section)
Source: E. Belcher Hyde.
1914, Freeport (Southeast Section, East of Sportsman Canal)
Source: E. Belcher Hyde.
1914, Freeport, (Southeast Section including South Main Street)
Source: E. Belcher Hyde.
1914, Freeport, (Southwest Section)
Source: E. Belcher Hyde.
1914, Freeport, (Southwest Section, North of Atlantic Avenue)
Source: E. Belcher Hyde.
1914, Freeport, (Woodcleft)
Source: E. Belcher Hyde.
1929, Meister Beach
From the Archives of the Freeport Memorial Library.
Freeport-Merrick
Source: Long Island Realty Company
Map of the Incorporated Village of Freeport, Nassau County, New York. January 1925
Prepared by Smith & Malcomson, Inc. [Located at the Freeport Memorial Library].
Randall Bay Estates, Section No. 1
Map (circa 1946?) from the archives of the Freeport Memorial Library. Map includes South Shore Yacht Club, LIGHTS Club, and a public beach on Prospect Street.
Randall Bay Estates, Section No. 3
Map (circa 1946?) from the Archives of the Freeport Memorial Library.
Woodcleft, Aero View
Source: John J. Randall, Co.
Woodcleft Bay Estates, Section No. 1
Map (circa 1946?) from the archives of the Freeport Memorial Library. Map includes western edge of the Woodcleft Golf Course and the Fresh Air Home on Front Street.
Woodcleft Beach, Section No. 1
Map, dated August 21, 1946, from the Archives of the Freeport Memorial Library.

Aero View of Freeport, Long Island, N.Y. 1909
Source: Library of Congress
Freeport, L.I., 1925, N.Y.
Source: Library of Congress
Map no 1 of Residence Park at Freeport, L.I. owned and controlled by The Warranty Realty Company (1903)
Source: Digital Archives Queens Library
Map no 2 of Residence Park at Freeport, L.I. owned and controlled by The Warranty Realty Company (1904)
Source: Digital Archives Queens Library
Map of Columbia Heights addition, at Freeport, L.I. comprising 345 lots, property of Long Island Realty Company (1905)
Source: Digital Archives Queens Library
Map of Russell Park property of Charles H. Sigmond, Freeport, L.I. (1903)
Source: Digital Archives Queens Library

Estate of Ernest S. Randall, 1936
Source: Freeport Memorial Library
Freeport, 1923 (includes: Baldwin, Rockville Centre, Lynbrook, Valley Stream Malverne, Lakeview, East Rockaway, Oceanside, Long Beach, Island Park, and the Five Towns)
Source: Real Estate Reference Map of Nassau County, Long Island, 1923.
E. Belcher Hyde, Inc.
Freeport, 1923 (includes: Roosevelt, Merrick, Bellmore, Wantagh, Seaford, Massapequa, and Amityville)
Source: Real Estate Reference Map of Nassau County, Long Island, 1923.
E. Belcher Hyde, Inc.
Roosevelt, 1914 (includes north Freeport)
Source: E. Belcher Hyde.
Includes: Residence Park, Russell Park, Freeport Manor, Freeport Terrace, Columbia Heights, and Stearns Park
Section 62, Block 132 (Rose Street, Bayview Avenue, Roosevelt Avenue, and Smith Street)
Source: Department of Assessment, County of Nassau, January 26, 1972.

Topographical map of the counties of Kings and Queens, New York, 1859
Source: Library of Congress
U.S. Coast Survey, Coastal Topographic Sheets of the South Side of Long Island, 1837
The U.S. Coast Survey created highly detailed topographic maps beginning in 1834. These maps eventually became known as topographic sheets or "T-sheets." Digitized by the University of Alabama

Map of Freeport Gables
Source: Freeport Historical Society

Aero View of Freeport, Long Island, N.Y. 1909
New York: Hughes & Bailey
Source: Library of Congress
Freeport, L.I., 1925, N.Y.
New York, Metropolitan Aero-View Co., c1925.
Source: Library of Congress
Topographical Map of the Counties of Kings and Queens, New York, 1859
By: Henry Francis Walling, (1825-1888)
New York : W.E. & A.A. Baker, publishers, 1859.
Source: Library of Congress

Map of Long Island, 1845
Source: Prime, Nathaniel S. History of Long Island: From Its First Settlement by Europeans, to the Year 1845.

Town of Hempstead

Baldwin (east of Grand Avenue), 1914
Source: E. Belcher Hyde
Courtesy of the Freeport Historical Society
Baldwin (west of Grand Avenue), 1914
Source: E. Belcher Hyde
Courtesy of the Freeport Historical Society
Baldwin, Southerly Part of (including Baldwin Harbor), 1914
Source: E. Belcher Hyde
Courtesy of the Freeport Historical Society
Baldwin, Southerly Part of, 1914
Source: E. Belcher Hyde
Courtesy of the Freeport Historical Society
Bellmore, 1906
Source: E. Belcher Hyde
Freeport Park Terrace (Merrick), 1926
Real Estate Brochure
Courtesy of Regina G. Feeney
Garden City (East Part), 1914
Source: E. Belcher Hyde.
Greenfield, 1914, (South Hempstead)
Source: E. Belcher Hyde.
Greenwich Point, Pearsalls, Valley Stream, Seaford, & Baldwins
Source: Chester Wolverton, 1891. (Greenwich Point is now Roosevelt, Pearsalls is now Lynbrook)
Hempstead, 1873
Source: Atlas of Long Island, New York 1873. Beers, Comstock, & Cline.
Hempstead Gardens, 1914.
Source: E. Belcher Hyde.
Hempstead Square, Hempstead Estates, & Fairlawn Park, 1914
Source: E. Belcher Hyde.
Hick's Neck
Source: Hick's Neck: The Story of Baldwin Long Island. Baldwin, NY: The Baldwin National Bank and Trust Company, 1939.
Inwood, 1914
Source: E. Belcher Hyde.
Long Beach (East Section), 1914
Source: E. Belcher Hyde.
Long Beach (West Section), 1914
Source: E. Belcher Hyde.
Malverne and Lakeview, 1914
Source: E. Belcher Hyde.
Merrick, 1914
Source: E. Belcher Hyde
Courtesy of the Freeport Historical Society
Oceanside (Ocean Side), 1914
Source: E. Belcher Hyde.
Pearsall (Lynbrook) and East Rockaway, 1873
Source: Atlas of Long Island, New York 1873. Beers, Comstock, & Cline.
Rockville Centre and Christian Hook, 1873
Source: Atlas of Long Island, New York 1873. Beers, Comstock, & Cline.
Rockville Centre Terrace, 1914
Includes Baldwin and Oceanside
Source: E. Belcher Hyde.
Roosevelt, 1873
Source: Atlas of Long Island, New York 1873. Beers, Comstock, & Cline.
Roosevelt, 1914 (includes north Freeport)
Source: E. Belcher Hyde
Villages of Woodsburgh, Cedarhurst, Lawrence, & Hewlett
Source: Chester Wolverton, 1891.

Atlas and Book Collection at FML

Atlas Collection

Town of North Hempstead

Town of Oyster Bay

Central Park (Bethpage), 1914
Source: E. Belcher Hyde.

Historic Map Works

Historic Map Works - is a commercial website where maps can be viewed for free, however, there is a fee to print or download copies.