Fact about the Village of Freeport
Freeport was settled in 1659.
The name "Freeport" became the official name of the town in 1853.
Freeport was incorporated as a Village in 1892.
Freeport was part of Queens County until 1899 when Nassau County was established.
In 1899, house numbers began being used in Freeport.
Don't forget - house numbers and street names have changed over time!.
Click here for the origin of some Freeport street names. Additional information about the origin of street names can be found on the Freeport History Encyclopedia, alphabetically by street name.
Click here for the history of various residential developments in Freeport.
These are some useful tips on how to research your Freeport home.
It is recommended you start your research at the Nassau County Clerk’s Office and My Nassau Property.
240 Old Country Road, Mineola, NY
Phone: (516) 571-2663 / Office Hours: 9 a.m. to 4:45 p.m.
The Nassau County Clerk maintains a record of real estate transactions and makes them available to the public. The office is responsible for:
· Recording deeds, mortgages, and mortgage satisfactions.
· Computing, collecting and disbursing transfer and mortgage taxes.
· Providing certified copies of recorded documents including deeds, mortgages and mortgage satisfactions.
· Recording commercial chattel mortgages, building loans, and their dispositions.
· Maintaining county land and subdivision maps.
Finding information at the Clerk’s Office will be easier if you know the section, block, and lot numbers of your house. This information is available on your tax bill and My Nassau Property.
House History: Resources Available at Your Public Library for Residential Genealogy
Featuring:
Regina G. Feeney, Librarian / Archivist, Freeport Memorial Library
Martha DiVittorio, Local History Librarian, Bellmore Memorial Library
Directory Information
Freeport Directory Information
Nassau County Telephone Books (digitized by the Great Neck Public Library).
Newspapers
Freeport, Long Island, NYC, and New York State Newspapers
Newsday (1940-1987) You must you have a Freeport Memorial Library card to access this database remotely.
The New York Times You must you have a Freeport Memorial Library card to access this database remotely
Brooklyn Daily Eagle (1831-1964)
Fulton History includes newspapers from Long Island
Maps
Historic Map Works (you can view maps for free, however, there is a fee to print or download copies of maps).
Freeport Tax Maps digitized (1915, 1925, 1930, 1935). Physical maps are at the Freeport Historical Society. Please call for appointment.
Photographs
New York Heritage (formerly Long Island Memories) includes digital copies of maps from the collections of the Freeport Memorial Library and the Freeport Historical Society.