Citrus Plants, Australian Finger Lime:
Description: (Citrus australasica) Order includes 1 plant. The 3-inch, elongated fruit of this thorny citrus relative is packed with tiny capsules of intense lime flavor! The compact shrub is native to coastal Queensland and New South Wales, Australia, finger lime was long a wild-foraged food for indigenous people – and later colonial settlers – and an important source of vitamin C. Finger lime cultivation began in the 1990s, and demand for this unique fruit grew quickly. We certainly see why!
Citrus Plants, Australian Red Pulp Finger Lime:
Description: (Citrus australasica) Order includes 1 plant. Sometimes called ‘citrus caviar,’ finger lime is one of the most fascinating fruits we know! Crack open the elongated reddish-green fruit to find tiny pearls of bright pink bursting with sweet-tart citrusy goodness. This shrub-sized variety grows wild in Australia and has caused a sensation among American chefs and foodies since its introduction.
Citrus Plants, Calamondin Tree:
Description: (Citrus x microcarpa) Order includes 1 plant. Calamondin, or Calamansi, is a kumquat-mandarin hybrid from China. Also called ‘miniature orange,’ Calamondin is popular as an ornamental patio or sunroom plant, with the added benefit of fruit, and in proper conditions, it can produce year around. Like a kumquat, the fruit has a sweet peel and sour flesh. Calamondin fruit is wonderful for making marmalade, candies, or other sweets.
Citrus Plants, Dekopon (Shiranui) Orange:
Description: (Citrus reticulata 'Shiranui') Your order contains 1 plant. Visitors to the Baker Creek farm are always astonished to see the big, bright, and bumpy orbs of Dekopon (Shiranui) oranges growing in our citrus greenhouses, and they frequently ask if we sell citrus plants. At last, the answer is “yes!” We have a limited quantity of Dekopon plants for sale. They were grown in our live plant greenhouses in Missouri using Flying Dragon citrus (Poncirus trifoliata) as rootstock. Flying Dragon is an excellent rootstock, in that it is very cold hardy and disease and pest resistant. Dekopons are super sweet, juicy, and easy to peel, and they are a coveted treat when they are in season! Each plant is approximately two feet tall. These citrus trees can be grown outdoors in USDA zones 9b to 11. At our Missouri farm, which is in USDA Zone 6b, we grow them in greenhouses.
Citrus Plants, Flying Dragon Hardy Orange:
Description: (Poncirus trifoliata) Your order includes 2 plants. Trifoliate Orange, also known as the “hardy orange” or “flying dragon,” is the most cold hardy of all citrus. It can thrive outdoors in temperatures as cold as -10°F. Originated in Northern China and the Korean Peninsula. It is a large, deciduous shrub that produces an unusually sour, downy fruit that is medicinally beneficial with anti-inflammatory properties and high in vitamin C and delicious when cooked. The very sour fruits are not normally eaten raw but are commonly juiced, made into marmalades, jams, jellies, or candied. Trifoliate oranges are slightly smaller than conventional oranges and taste like a blend of lemon and grapefruit. Since hardy orange is deciduous — unlike others from the citrus family — the leaves will develop touches of scarlet and yellow in autumn before falling off. It is very dwarf and is used as a root stock for dwarf citrus trees. Extremely ornamental with corkscrew growth habit branches covered in large downward curved spines. Flying Dragon does well in containers, even pruned in bonsai fashion.
Description: (Citrus hystrix) Order includes 1 plant. Also known as Thai lime, Kaffir lime, or Makrut lime, C. hystrix is native to tropical Southeast Asia. The highly fragrant, hourglass-shaped double leaves provide an essential flavor in the cuisines of Thailand, Laos, and other Southeast Asian countries. The rind is ground and used in curry pastes, and while the fruit is acrid and rarely eaten, the leathery, dark green skin contains essential oils extracted for flavoring and personal care products. The fruit has medicinal and ceremonial uses as well. The trees can grow to 10 feet tall and four feet wide.
Citrus Plants, Kishu Mandarin:
Description: (Citrus kinokuni mukakukishu). Your order includes 1 plant. What’s not to love about Kishu mandarin, with its supremely sweet and seedless, bite-size orange perfection in an easy-to-peel skin? Kishu trees will grow 6 to 8 feet tall in pots (and taller if planted in ground) and bear impressive numbers of delectable fruit about the size of ping pong balls. Kishu mandarin is believed to have originated in southern China in the 8th century and is one of several small-fruited Chinese mandarins. After its introduction to Japan in the 13th century, Kishu became a favorite in Tokyo. It was introduced in America in the 1800s, but it didn’t take off in popularity until the late 20th century, when breeders developed a seedless version and Jim Churchill, a citrus grower in Ojai, CA, established the first Kishu orchard in the U.S.
Description: (Fortunella crassifolia) Your order includes 1 plant. With its thick, sweet rind and scant seeds, Meiwa kumquat is the most popular kumquat variety in Asia. The rounded orbs, which mature to about 1 ½ inches in diameter, are eaten whole for a sweet-tart flavor sensation, and made into jellies and candies. Because Meiwa trees are semi-dormant in winter, they can withstand sub-freezing temperatures. The compact trees grow to 10 to 12 feet, making them suitable for containers or hedges.
Description: (Citrus x meyeri) Your order includes 1 plant. A citrus fruit so special it has its own U.S. postage stamp! While on an expedition to Asia for the USDA, botanical explorer Frank N. Meyer encountered this variety in the village of Fengtai (now a district of Beijing) in 1908. Noting that the short, potted plant bore prodigiously, he wrote that "the fruit is large, very smooth, and thin-skinned, very juicy, only slightly sour, and is practically seedless." Meyer sent a sample of the variety to the USDA in California, and after its release it quickly gained a following among home gardeners. The Meyer lemon is a cross of citron and a mandarin-pomelo hybrid. Its sweeter, more floral flavor, thinner skin, smaller size, and lower acidity distinguish it from regular lemons.
Citrus Plants, Sudachi Ichandrin Papeda Tree:
Description: (Citrus ichangensis x C. reticulata var. austere) Your order includes 1 plant. "Papeda" is an umbrella term used to describe a group of primitive citrus fruits growing wild in tropical Asia, China, and Japan for thousands of years. Despite its tropical origins, Papeda has better resistance to frost than many other citrus varieties, allowing it to be used as rootstock and grown in temperate regions.
