Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Pollinator Victory Garden by
Call Number: [NEW] O 576.875 E
Publication Date: 2020-01-07
You can create a beautiful landscape that attracts and supports many different species of pollinators.
The New Gardener's Handbook by
Call Number: [NEW] 635 B
Publication Date: 2020-02-18
"Gardeners just starting out will earn a sense of accomplishment and a good dose of knowledge." --Booklist Every new gardener has to start somewhere--and the process can be intimidating. Knowing when and what to plant, how to care for the plants once they're in the ground, and how to keep pests and diseases away is a lot to take on. Luckily, Daryl Beyers--an expert from the New York Botanical Garden--has written what will be a go-to resource for decades to come. The New Gardener's Handbook is a comprehensive overview of the fundamentals of gardening, based on the introductory gardening class that Beyers teaches at NYBG. Readers will learn about soil, plant selection, propagation, planting and mulching, watering and feeding, pruning, and weeds, pests, and diseases. The information applies to both ornamental and edible plants. Featuring inspiring photography and helpful illustrations, The New Gardener's Handbook gives home gardeners a foundation upon which they can grow, and encourages them to apply the lessons they've learned in an intuitive, natural way.
Garden Alchemy by
Call Number: [NEW] 635.04 R
Publication Date: 2020-02-18
Garden Alchemy is a hands-on guide for do-it-yourself gardeners who want to turn their garden into gold using natural recipes and herbal concoctions (while saving both time and money!). This gardening recipe and project book is packed with over 80 ideas to naturally beautify your garden, using organic methods that regenerate your soil and revitalize your plants. By following the processes that are closest to nature, it brings the gardener in sync with the garden, allowing plants to thrive with less effort and less cost. Recipes for mixing your own potting soils and homemadeorganic fertilizers give you the freedom to choose what ingredients make their way into your garden. Step-by-step instructions for building a compost pile, concocting soil tests, and constructing inexpensive DIY seed-starting equipment are accompanied by gorgeous, full-color, step-by-step photography. You'll also find recipes for natural pest deterrents and traps, garden teas, and growth-boosting foliar sprays to help your garden grow strong all season long. Garden Alchemy starts with home experiments to help you get to know your soil and customize recipes for your individual needs. The rest of the chapters share how to decipher and combine natural ingredients to make the best quality amendments and elixirs. Detailed descriptions of earth-based materials demystify common ingredients, such as mycorrhizae, biochar, and greensand, and help you learn how to fix common garden problems with minimal effort. The simple method of making use of what you have available supports plants better than brand-name products. Dozens of recipes and projects include: Homemade seed bombs, disks, and tapes Granular and liquid natural fertilizer recipes DIY rooting hormone Herbal anti-fungal spray Plant propagation instructions Soil care recipes to adjust the pH and manage fertility 13 specialty potting mixes 7 clever traps for common garden pests Written by Stephanie Rose, the creative gardener, permaculturist, and herbalist behind the popular website Garden Therapy, this fun and beautifully illustrated book is packed with great ideas and inspiration for DIY gardeners who want to embrace their creativity and have more control of the garden's care.
Beginning Seed Saving by
Call Number: [NEW] 635.0421 U
Publication Date: 2019-09-24
How home gardeners with limited time and garden space can reclaim the joy and independence of seed saving Beginning Seed Saving for the Home Gardener explores how seed saving is not only easier than we think, but that it is essential for vibrant, independent, and bountiful gardens. Many home gardeners refuse to eat a grocery store tomato, but routinely obtain seeds commercially, sometimes from thousands of miles away. And while seed saving can appear mysterious and intimidating, even home gardeners with limited time and space can experience the joy and independence it brings, freeing them from industry and the annual commercial seed order. Coverage includes: Why seed saving belongs in the home garden Principles of vegetative and sexual reproduction Easy inbreeding plants, including legumes, lettuce, tomatoes, and peppers Plants with a few more challenges, including squash, spinach, onions, and parsley Brief discussion of more difficult crops, including corn, carrots, and cabbage. Written by a home seed saver for the home seed saver, Beginning Seed Saving for the Home Gardener is a comprehensive guide for those who want to reclaim our seed heritage, highlighting the importance of saving seeds for you, your neighbors, and most importantly, subsequent generations.
Grow Your Own Herbs by
Call Number: 635 B
Publication Date: 2019-05-28
Nothing tastes better than herbs harvested fresh from the garden! Grow Your Own Herbs shares everything you need to know to grow the forty most important culinary herbs. You'll learn basic gardening information, including details on soil, watering, and potting. Profiles of 40 herbs--including popular varieties like basil, bay laurel, lemon verbena, tarragon, savory, thyme, and more--feature tasting notes, cultivation information, and harvesting tips. Additional information includes instructions for preserving and storing, along with techniques for making delicious pastes, syrups, vinegar, and butters. If you are new to gardening, have a limited space, or are looking to add fresh herbs to their daily meals, Grow Your Own Herbs is a must-have.
New Plant Parent by
Call Number: 635 C
Publication Date: 2019-03-19
For indoor gardeners everywhere, Darryl Cheng offers a new way to grow healthy house plants. He teaches the art of understanding a plant's needs and giving it a home with the right balance of light, water, and nutrients. After reading Cheng, the indoor gardener will be far less the passive follower of rules for the care of each species and much more the confident, active grower, relying on observation and insight. And in the process, the plant owner becomes a plant lover, bonded to these beautiful living things by a simple love and appreciation of nature.The House Plant Journal Handbook covers all of the basics of growing house plants, from finding the right light, to everyday care like watering and fertilizing, to containers, to recommended species. Cheng's friendly tone, personal stories, and accessible photographs fill his book with the same generous spirit that has made @houseplantjournal, his Instagram account, a popular source of advice and inspiration for thousands of indoor gardeners.
Beginner Gardening Step by Step by
Call Number: 635 B
Publication Date: 2019-02-12
New to gardening? Start with the essentials for beginners. Beginner Gardening Step By Step shows you the basics to get your green space under control and keep it that way. In this expert text, you'll find simple step-by-step instructions, with clear images to help you create your dream garden, no matter the size and scale. From planting decorative climbers to growing your own fruits and vegetables, these easy steps will make a big difference in how your garden and landscape look and feel. Take the anxiety out of planting, potting, and pruning and enjoy your lush lawn, beautiful landscape, and bountiful garden. Grow tomatoes, make a hanging basket, cut back your bushes and prune your roses - simply, practically and efficiently. The perfect way to kickstart a new outdoor hobby - this refreshingly accessible book will help the gardening novice master and enjoy their precious patch of land.
Field Guide to Urban Gardening by
Call Number: [NEW] 635.0917 E
Publication Date: 2019-05-14
In Field Guide to Urban Gardening, author Kevin Espiritu of Epic Gardening shares the basics of growing plants, offers tips on how to choose the right urban gardening method, and troubleshoots the most common problems you'll encounter. If you think it's impossible to grow your own food because you don't have a large yard or you live in the city...think again. There is a plethora of urban gardening options to create beautiful, productive edible gardens no matter where you live. The key to succeeding as an urban gardener is to choose the method(s) that make sense for your unique living situation and then give your plants what they need to thrive. Kevin helps you do just that. But he doesn't stop there. He also provides in-depth garden plans, from upcycled DIY projects and intensive hydroponic systems to beautiful and functional raised beds. Urban gardening is a real, growing, and important movement in today's world. This fact-packed book is your roadmap to get growing today. Urban gardening techniques featured include: Container Gardening Raised Beds Indoor Edibles Balconies and Rooftops Hydroponics
Attracting Birds and Butterflies by
Call Number: [NEW] 635.96 E
Publication Date: 2020-02-04
A quick-reference guide to attracting birds and butterflies for gardeners with little experience and time. In the eye of a bird or butterfly, the typical suburban landscape resembles an unfriendly desert. Closely mowed lawns, tightly clipped shrubs, raked-up borders, and deadheaded flowers mean no place to nest, no food to eat, and nowhere to hide. To the humans who live there, this means no bird songs, no colorful butterflies, no dazzling hummingbirds, no night-sparkling fireflies. Creating a garden that welcomes these creatures may seem like a confusing and complicated task, but the principles involved are relatively simple. Essentially, wildlife needs food, water, and shelter, just like we do, and this lavishly illustrated guide shows which plants attract which creatures, and how to plant and care for them.
Plant, Sow, Make and Grow by
Call Number: J 635 C
Publication Date: 2019-08-01
Get little gardeners growing and learning with this beautifully illustrated book, packed with information and crafty stuff to do. Help them to discover that gardening can be simple and uncomplicated with very little equipment and prior knowledge needed. It often is as simple as having some seeds, a patch of soil or a container and having a go. As well as gaining a new hobby, there will be extra motivation to eat up the veggies after growing and picking them and the simple pleasure of spending time together outside. With sections based on the cycle of the seasons, the pages are packed with ideas of what to grow, how to sow seeds and useful harvesting information. Also included are tips about what wildlife you may see, raiding your recycling box to make some useful gardening accessories, and other decorative craft activities.
El Jardin de Las Microverduras by
Call Number: SP 613.2 B
Publication Date: 2019-06-30
This comprehensive guide by Mark Matthew Braunstein explains everything you need to know to grow microgreens at home, inexpensively and easily. It provides extensive instructions for selecting seeds and soil, along with guidance on proper temperature, light, and ventilation.
Countertop Gardens by
Call Number: 635.2 L
Publication Date: 2018-06-19
A guide to different methods for growing plants indoors in small spaces, from tiny pots and vertical planting to hydroponics, aquaponics, and other creative solutions.
Healing Houseplants by
Call Number: 635 P
Publication Date: 2018-07-03
What if the beautiful plants in your home could also become a part of your health routine? Many houseplants are easy to grow indoors and can reduce stress, increase productivity, speed up healing, treat depression, increase overall happiness, and filter our air from carcinogenic pollutants. Make the most of your indoor houseplants! Did you know: That aloe plant sitting on your windowsill can be used as an ointment for scrapes, bruises, and sunburns. A chamomile plant--with its pretty display of white flowers--might be your cure for restless sleep and anxiety. A lavender plant will make your bathroom smell delightful and can also be used as a stress relief medicinal. Learn which plants have which health benefits and then find out how to care for them effectively in your home or office. Aloe soothes skin irritations and is excellent for stomach health Rosemary can slow hair loss and enhance memory Chamomile balances blood sugar and is an antibacterial Sage can easy muscle aches and bring mental clarity Dandelions can improve digestion Calendula can reduce skin inflammation Learn how to make your houseplants thrive and how to utilize them for your health!