Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Career and Exam Databases
Please note that you will need your library barcode number to access these databases from outside the library.
Business Insights: Essentials
This database includes company profiles, industry reports, and financial reports, as well as business magazine and newspaper articles.
Available via NOVEL - a project of the New York State Library, federally funded by LSTA grants.
Career Cruising is an interactive career resource designed for people of all ages. Use this database if you want to find the right career, explore different career options, or plan future education and training.
JobNow™ is an innovative online service that provides expert resume help, real-time interview coaching and career advice. There are services to help with every step of a job search. The Adult Learning Center features test preparation (including GED and U.S. citizenship preparation), writing assistance, and study tools for math, reading and writing. Live, online one-on-one interaction with a tutor or job coach is available as part of JobNow™ and the Adult Learning Center. Live sessions can be conducted in English or Spanish.
Learning Express Library
Offers practice tests, exercises, skill-building courses, ebooks, and information you need to achieve the results you want -- at school, at work, or in life. Practice tests include Police Officer, EMT/Paramedic, Cosmetology, Military (ASVAB), Civil Service, GED and more! No includes the ESL (Spanish) Skills Improvement Course.
Contains over 16,700 courses and tutorials on a variety of technical, creative, and business topics taught by experts in their fields. Courses can be viewed from your computer, as well as on your tablet or smartphone.
Please note that course content may only be accessed through the above link, and not by directly visiting the lynda.com homepage. Please also note that while the Library's lynda.com accounts are accessible through mobile devices, they are not accessible through the lynda.com apps. You must use your mobile device's browser.
Learn how to use some of the Library's subscription services, such as Overdrive, NuWav Legal Documents, Consumer Reports, and more.
RBDigital Streaming Video on Demand
Access to streaming videos including Acorn TV British TV & Film, The Great Courses, IndieFlix, Qello Concerts, ACT/SAT Test Prep, and Learn it Live. If you had an RBDigital username and password for digital magazines, please use them to access Streaming Video on Demand.
Provides addresses, sales information, and executive names for over 63.1 million businesses in the U.S. and Canada. Searchable by state/province, city, zip/postal code, SIC code and yellow page headings. Searches can be customized by company size, sales volume, geographic location, industry, etc. Many of the listings are for small businesses. Database also includes residential listings for phone numbers and addresses for 160 million U.S. households and 11 million Canadian households and information on 1.2 million physicians and dentists.
Salem Careers brings online access to Salem Press’ award-winning career reference works, such as
Business Information Resources, 2018
America's Top-Rated Cities 2019
America's Top-Rated Cities 2020
America's Top-Rated Cities 2021
The Complete Resource for People with Disabilities 2020, 28th ed.
(NOTE: TO USE THIS DATABASE FROM HOME, YOU MUST CLICK ON THE "REMOTE ACCESS" LINK. AFTER CLICKING ON THE REMOTE ACCESS LINK, YOU WILL BE PROMPTED FOR YOUR 14-DIGIT LIBRARY CARD BARCODE).
Small Business Collection
Small Business Collection covers all major areas of starting and operating a business. It provides insights, tips, strategies, and success stories for business schools and entrepreneurs. Updated daily, this database contains more than 500 subject-appropriate, full-text periodicals.
VetNow supports your community’s veterans and their families with navigating the VA bureaucracy, providing academic tutoring, and employment transition assistance.
Vocations and Careers Collection (GALE)
Finding the right career can be a daunting and high stakes task: finding an appropriate institution of learning, job searching, and maintaining a career are all topics covered by this collection, providing current and applicable content for all vocational milestones. Offering content from over 450, most of them in full text, this collection provides content from general career guides to highly specialized industry journals.