Skip to main content

Freeport History Encyclopedia: Home

Freeport History Encyclopedia includes authoritative information about Freeport's past. This guide is perfect for anyone wanting to know more about our village.

Welcome

Welcome to the Freeport History Encyclopedia!  This guide provides authoritative information about Freeport's incredible past.  It includes the history of local institutions, parks and buildings, as well as biographies of the men and women who have added to the development and culture of the Village of Freeport.

Many of the entries have been contributed by Cynthia J. Krieg, the Village of Freeport Historian and President of the Freeport Historical Society.

Entries have been proofed and edited by Denise Rushton, Trustee of the Freeport Historical Society.

The Freeport History Encyclopedia is a work in progress.  Please check back often for new entries and updates.

Click here for additional information related to researching Freeport history.

If you can't find what you are looking for, try searching our digitized newspapers.

Quick Facts

Quick Facts about Freeport

Freeport was settled in 1659.

Freeport was known as Raynortown and Raynor South until 1853 when the name "Freeport" was chosen by popular vote.

Freeport was incorporated in 1892.

Today, Freeport is the second largest incorporated village in the State of New York.

Click here for a timeline of Freeport history.

Local History Resources

Yearbooks

Freeport High School Yearbooks from 1927 to 1977 have been digitized and are now available online!  Commencement programs will be added in the near future.

Click here to access the collection.

Newspapers! Newspapers! Newspapers!

More newspapers have been digitized! 

  • The Long Island Graphic: January 1961 to October 1966 (New title!)
  • The Kernel: May 1958 to February 1966 (New title!)
  • The Leader: July 8, 1999 to August 2000 (Additional issues!)

Click here for free access to historic newspaper.

Librarian / Archivist / Public Historian

Regina Feeney's picture
Regina Feeney
Contact:
516-379-3274
Website

House Research

Researching your house? 

Click here.

Pre-Recorded History Presentations

Don't Know Much About Freeport

Freeport Walks Into a Bar

The History of Temperance and Prohibition Movement in the Village of Freeport, NY

House History

Jews of Freeport: Brief History of Jewish History and Culture in the Village of Freeport

Sailing Through Freeport History

 

Coming Soon!

Memories of Bennington Park

Port to Port: Freeport and Port Washington History Series

Where Freeport Sleeps: Final Resting Places of Freeport's Pillars, Killers, and Notables