Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Naturalization and Citizenship 101: Freeport Memorial Library Databases

This is a guide on how to navigate the U.S. Citizenship and Naturalization Process with links to guides, organizations, and other resources to help you through the process from start to finish.

Freeport Memorial Library Databases

Freeport Memorial Library Databases (Selection of databases to assist applicants in their studies):

US History Collection (Gale):

As any historian will state, the study of history is as much about the present as the past: to that end, this collection provides well-rounded coverage of both the current thinking and events in US History, as well as scholarly work being established in the field. This compilation of over 500 journals provides robust and balanced coverage of this field, useful both to the novice historian as well as to the advanced academic researcher.

Pop Culture Collection (Gale):

It's all around us and influences our lives every day. This collection provides useful information for any researcher in a social science, history, art or liberal arts course. This collection is made up of more than 230 subject-appropriate full-text periodicals.

Proquest Research Library (Multiple databases on a range of U.S. Topics):

Includes thousands of full-text titles with a highly respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, professional and trade publications, important and general interest magazines from over 2092 publications.

The African American Experience (ABC-CLIO):

The African American Experience encompasses the myriad contributions of individuals from the African American Community who have achieved prominence in the arts, entertainment, the sciences, business, the military, and politics, as well as nameless others who endured the travails of slavery and institutionalized discrimination.

(NOTE: TO USE THIS DATABASE FROM HOME, YOU MUST CLICK ON THE "REMOTE ACCESS" LINK. AFTER CLICKING ON THE REMOTE ACCESS LINK, YOU WILL BE PROMPTED FOR YOUR 14-DIGIT LIBRARY CARD BARCODE.)

Credo Reference:

Online reference service featuring over 859 full-text reference titles covering all subject areas with over 3 million articles from 100 highly-respected publishers all aggregated and integrated in a robust search engine.

Daily Life Through History (ABC-CLIO):

This includes the Daily Life America database.  The content is enhanced with new books, articles, images, maps, and primary documents, moving seamlessly from past to present and providing context for contemporary life and culture. (NOTE: TO USE THIS DATABASE FROM HOME, YOU MUST CLICK ON THE "REMOTE ACCESS" LINK. AFTER CLICKING ON THE REMOTE ACCESS LINK, YOU WILL BE PROMPTED FOR YOUR 14-DIGIT LIBRARY CARD BARCODE.)

Scholastic Go!:

Available via NOVEL, a project of the New York State Library, federally funded by LSTA grants. Includes:

Grolier Encyclopedia Americana - This encyclopedia is designed for high school and first-year college students
Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia - Fact-filled reference resource rich in multimedia content and designed for the young researcher.
New Book of Knowledge - Fun, easy-to-use, general reference resource helps students to gain access to a wide range of topics.
Amazing Animals of the World - Wild animals and their habitats for elementary and middle school students.
America the Beautiful - State history, people, places, and events for elementary and middle school students.
Lands and Peoples - Countries and cultures of the world  for elementary and middle school students.
The New Book of Popular Science - Science and technology, plus science in the news for middle and high school students.
La Nueva Enciclopedia Cumbre - A Comprehensive reference resource for Spanish speakers and Spanish-language students.

Biography In Context (Gale):

This is a one-stop source with 650,000 biographical entries covering more than 400,000 international figures from all time periods and areas of study, as well as figures at the center of current events and popular culture. Biography in Context offers authoritative reference content alongside magazine and journal articles, primary sources, videos, audio podcasts, and images.

Pronunciator:

Pronunciator is a fun and free way to learn any of 80 languages with self-directed lessons, live teachers, movies, music, and more.  Pronunciator also offers free to citizenship materials and resources.  

Spanish Law Dictionary (Credo):

Provides comprehensive coverage of all aspects of British, American and Spanish law. Covers subjects including criminal, civil, commercial and international law. Comments are also included in both languages to clarify entries that relate to specific legal terms, institutions and organizations of a country where either English or Spanish is spoken and which have no equivalent in the other language. 

U.S. Hispanic Newsstream (Proquest):

U.S. Hispanic News stream offers access to the largest collection of leading Hispanic newspapers, news wires, websites and blogs in full text from U.S. publishers in both Spanish and English.

Virtual Reference Library (Gale):

A database of over 3,557 encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources.  Subjects covered include, but are not limited to, history, philosophy, religion, science, business, information & publishing, literature, law, medicine, education, technology, careers, and biography.