American Studies- 20th Century Resources: Sylvia Plath

The Bell Jar is Sylvia Plath's shocking, realistic, and intensely emotional novel of a woman falling into the grips of insanity, now available in an Olive Edition--a lower-priced small format edition with a hip and beautiful package design. A haunting American classic, The Bell Jar chronicles the crack-up of Esther Greenwood: brilliant, beautiful, enormously talented, and successful, but slowly going under--maybe for the last time.

"Crossing the Water, a collection of poems written just prior to those in Ariel, . . . is of immense importance in recording [Plath's] extraordinary development. One senses on every page a voice coming into its own, the chaos of a lifetime at last getting ready to assume its final, triumphant shape."  -- Kirkus Reviews Sylvia Plath's extraordinary collection pushes the envelope between dark and light, between our deep passions and desires that are often in tension with our duty to family and society. Water becomes a metaphor for the surface veneer that many of us carry, but Plath explores how easily this surface can be shaken and disturbed.

A beautiful hardcover selection the best-loved poems of Pulitzer Prize-winner Sylvia Plath, author of The Bell Jar. AN EVERYMAN'S LIBRARY POCKET POET. Sylvia Plath's tragically abbreviated career as a poet began with work that was, in the words of one of her teachers, Robert Lowell, "formidably expert." It ended with a group of poems published after her suicide in 1963 which are, in the nakedness of their confessions, in their black humor, in their ferocious honesty about what people do to one another and to themselves, among the most harrowing lyrics in the English language--poems in which a magnificent, exquisitely disciplined literary gift has been brought to bear upon the unbearable. In these transfiguring poems, Plath managed the rarest of feats: she changed the direction and orientation of an art form. This Everyman's Library Pocket Poets edition includes: * "Lady Lazarus" * "Daddy" * "Morning Song" * "Tulips" * "The Moon and the Yew Tree" * "Ariel" * "Poppies in October" * "Death & Co." Everyman's Library pursues the highest production standards, printing on acid-free cream-colored paper, with full-cloth cases with two-color foil stamping, decorative endpapers, silk ribbon markers, European-style half-round spines, and a jewel-toned jacket.

The poet Sylvia Plath has been a cultural icon since 1963 when she took her own life on a cold winter morning at the age of 30. This up-to-date biography explores the nature and sources of the mythology that has surrounded the poet's life by presenting a balanced account of her own life and the many significant people and events that influenced her. This outstanding biography presents the facts of Plath's life as they are known in the 21st century. The research for this biography uitilizes the latest updated scholarship including new information released in the unabridged journals published in 2000 and the newly accessible Ted Hughes archives. In addition to this primary research, conducted in part at Smith College, Kirk also provides new insights and perspectives from original interview material with a Plath contemporary who personally knew her. Whether read for a school assignment or for personal interest, this highly readable biography offers an accessible alternative to the density of Plath scholarship. Readers who wish to pursue the topic further will find an extensive bibliography of biographical and critical sources, a full list of Plath's writings, an appendix of her own literary holdings, and another appendix of her family tree.

Unlock the secrets to business success with the powerhouse strategies of Taylor Swift In The Glory of Giving Everything: The Taylor Swift Business Model, author Crystal Haryanto delves into the extraordinary business dynamics behind Taylor Swift's career. This book addresses how Swift has not only revolutionized the music industry but has also created a sustainable brand that resonates deeply with fans. Haryanto provides valuable insights on leveraging personal branding, fan engagement, and innovative marketing in today's competitive landscape. Packed with timeless lessons, this book outlines how Swift's unique approach to her audience turns fans into avid consumers, making them an integral part of her success. Readers will discover the intricacies of strategic networking and collaboration through a fascinating analysis of Swift's career. In the book: Discover how personal branding can be adapted to different markets Learn the importance of viewing customers as stakeholders in your business Explore effective strategies for maximizing viral marketing and merchandising The Glory of Giving Everything is designed for entrepreneurs, marketers, and fans alike who want to glean insights from one of the most iconic figures in modern entertainment. Whether you're a lifelong Swiftie or new to her world, this book will inspire you to elevate your own business strategies and embrace the artistry of entrepreneurship.

A guide to the 10 power moves that have built Taylor Swift's superstardom and empire, from a former Strategist at Harvard Business School's Institute for Strategy Taylor Swift's genius is not limited to her singing and songcraft: as the founder of her own multi-billion dollar enterprise she has higher returns than 99.9% of hedge funds, and has built a stronger global corporation than nearly every other American conglomerate CEO. She is the only person that the US Federal Reserve and European Central Bank track with precision. She has a larger impact on the economy than most economists that have ever lived, and has done more for US antitrust law than any sitting member of Congress. There is a lot to learn from Taylor Swift.   Global investment fund manager and former head of Strategy at HBS (and Swiftie!) Sinead O'Sullivan taps into the same genius that sells out stadiums and shuts down the internet to give Taylor--the CEO, the strategist--the respect she deserves. O'Sullivan sums up Swift's business savvy into ten big, teachable lessons, including: -Build a World (Not a Product): how to create value that is greater than the sum of its parts (or, how Taylor created the fan-centered Swiftverse that fosters community, belonging, and off-the-charts engagement)   -Be Anti-Fragile: how to embrace volatility, build resilience, and thrive in uncertainty--when your competitors can't (or, how Taylor gamed the chaos of Covid shutdown to own the airwaves) -Don't Just Play the Game, Change It: how to rewrite the rules on your own terms when your chips are down (or, how Taylor almost lost control of her music catalog to Private Equity--but re-recorded all her masters and took them back)

***The Instant New York Times Bestseller!*** An intimate look at the life and music of modern pop's most legendary figure, Taylor Swift, from leading music journalist Rob Sheffield. A cultural phenomenon. A worldwide obsession. An agent of emotional chaos. There's no parallel to Taylor Swift in history: a teenage girl who turns into the world's favorite pop star, songwriter, storyteller, guitar hero, live performer, changing how music is made and heard. An all-time great on the level of The Beatles, Prince, or David Bowie. Heartbreak Is the National Anthem: How Taylor Swift Reinvented Pop Music is the first book that goes deep on the musical and cultural impact of Taylor Swift. Nobody can tell the story like Rob Sheffield, the bestselling and award-winning author of Dreaming the Beatles, On Bowie, and Love Is a Mix Tape. The legendary Rolling Stone journalist is the writer who has chronicled Taylor for every step of her long career, from her early days to the Eras Tour. Sheffield gets right to the heart of Swift and her music, her lyrics, her fan connection, her raw power. At once one of the most beloved music figures of the past two decades and one of the most criticized, Taylor Swift is known as much for her life beyond her music as she is for her hits--the most public of stars, yet also the weirdest and most mysterious. In the tradition of Sheffield's Dreaming the Beatles, Heartbreak Is the National Anthem will inform and delight a legion of fans who hang on every word from Taylor and every word Rob writes on her.  

The only book that unlocks the deep meanings and themes of Taylor Swift's music and lyrics, era by era. For every fan whose heart beats to Swift's music, Into the Taylor-Verse will speak to you "All Too Well." From the early days of Fearless to the sleepless musings of Midnights, Into the Taylor-Verse explores how Taylor crafts stories that are like mirrors, reflecting back our deeply felt experiences and the journey of self-discovery. Taylor's fans know that her lyrics "Hit Different," and so, too, does Into the Taylor-Verse, which celebrates Swift's trademark themes of love, loss, resilience, and redemption in songs that are emotional anchors. Each chapter is dedicated to a distinct era, taking readers from girlhood dreams to grown-up realities. It's "You Belong with Me" in book form. Special features include playlists, a timeline of Taylor's iconic hairstyles, the essential breakdown of the number thirteen, and more. Into the Taylor-Verse is the "Enchanted" map for every fan to listen, interpret, and relate on a whole new level--perfect for new Swifties and those who've been "Dancing with Our Hands Tied" to her music for years.

An anthology of brand-new poems inspired by Taylor Swift songs, from a powerhouse group of contemporary poets, including Kate Baer, Maggie Smith, and Joy Harjo. Let the decoding begin! With a record-breaking four Grammy awards for Album of the Year, Taylor Swift stands alone in the world of pop music. One of the most talented lyricists of all time, her music captivates millions of fans throughout the globe with the narrative depth and emotional resonance of her songwriting. In Invisible Strings, poet, professor, and dedicated Swiftie Kristie Frederick Daugherty has brought together 113 contemporary poets, each contributing an original poem that responds to a specific Taylor Swift song. In a spirit of celebration and collaboration, poets have taken a cue from Swift's love of dropping clues and puzzles for her fandom to decode, as each poem alludes to a song without using direct lyrics. Swifties will enjoy closely reading each of the poems to discover which song each poet responded to; each poem responds to only one song. The collection showcases a diverse and accomplished array of writers including the 23rd US Poet Laureate Joy Harjo, Pulitzer Prize winners Diane Seuss, Yusef Komunyakaa, Carl Phillips, Rae Armantrout, Paul Muldoon, and Gregory Pardlo, National Book Critics Circle Award winners Mary Jo Bang and Laura Kasischke, and bestselling poets Maggie Smith, Aimee Nezhukumatathil, Kate Baer, amanda lovelace, Tyler Knott Gregson, and Jane Hirshfield. Swifties will experience the profundity and nuance of Swift's lyrics through these poems, while having fun matching the poems to songs from all of her eras--vault tracks included! For poetry lovers, this one-of-a-kind anthology is an unparalleled collection of new work from today's most lauded and revered poets.

Long Live is a deep-dive into the cultural phenomenon of Swifties as well as the many facets of the artist herself. From MySpace comments to T-Party invites to Secret Sessions and beyond, it covers the evolution of Taylor as well as the journey that fans have been on with her through two decades of personal milestones-hers and theirs, both good and bad. It's the book that connects with fans in the way her music does-on a personal level that makes them feel seen and takes them back to unforgettable times and places in their lives. Readers will take a trip through Taylor's eras from the start of her ground-breaking career, with stops at each album and its iconic songs, the hidden Easter Eggs, unforgettable concerts and fashion, and the many relationships that have informed the star's music. The content is peppered with sidebars on How to Speak Swiftie, How to Dress by Era, career stats, and exclusive stories of fan encounters and author and entertainment journalist Nicole Pomarico's own experiences meeting Taylor Swift and her parents. With stylish illustrations and photos throughout, this engaging, essential look at the artist's career and fandom is the complete package for Swifties.

Grab your highlighters and favorite red pen and prepare to join professor of "Swifterature" Dr. Elly McCausland as she dives deep into the tortured poetry of Taylor Swift. Going line by line and word by word through 46 of Swift's most celebrated and hotly debated songs from across her 11-album career, McCausland is here to help you listen, read, and understand Taylor's music in an all-new way! Stars Around My Scars is a fan-focused opportunity to revel in the poetic songwriting glow of Taylor Swift, a once-in-a-generation luminary. Each entry presents a song with literary significance, offering a close reading of the lyrics with accompanied marginalia that points out poetic technique, literary references, and creative throughlines. Accompanied by an in-depth analysis of the deeper meaning, craftsmanship, and literary connections present both above and beneath the surface, Dr. McCausland puts listening to Taylor Swift and appreciating poetry hand-in-hand.   Written in an approachable style for Swifties of any era, Stars Around My Scars indulges the act of examining Swift's lyrics for their literary "easter eggs" and connections and legitimizes Swift as this generation's great poet and writer.

"Even the most obsessive Swiftie will discover new Easter eggs in these pages."-Oprah Daily From a Robert Frost poem on her debut album to the myth of Cassandra on The Tortured Poets Department, Taylor Swift's lyrics are filled with literary connections. Make sure you're catching them all with this expert guide to the novels, poems, and plays that influence her songwriting. Let a literature professor and a musical theater artist guide you through the Taylor Swift canon-from Shakespeare to the Bronte sisters to Daphne du Maurier! Learn what "New Romantics" has to do with the old Romantics Get to know the Gothic monsters haunting Midnights Spot Taylor's many Great Gatsby references Discover what Taylor Swift and Emily Dickinson have in common And find your new favorite tortured poet! Packed with fun facts, entertaining analysis, and literary-themed playlists that fans will love, Taylor Swift by the Book will turn anyone from a Taylor Swift lover into a Taylor Swift scholar. With full-color illustrations highlighting the literary eras of Dr. Swift (yes, she has an honorary PhD), it's a perfect gift for the Swiftie in your life.