Language Learning at FML: Foreign Language Materials

Your go-to guide for expressing yourself correctly in the most spoken language in the world Basic English Grammar For Dummies is the bestselling grammar guide that's perfect for readers who want to improve their knowledge of the English language. This well-rounded primer covers the building blocks of English grammar, giving you an introduction to parts of speech, sentence structure, punctuation, capitalization, and more. Real-world examples help you understand the rules of Standard English -- and when you can break them! You can test your progress with quiz questions on every topic. This updated edition explains current usage (including pronouns and presentation slides) and gives you handy rules to remember, so you can speak and write with confidence. Make the English language learning process engaging and stress-free with this Dummies guide. Learn about parts of speech, sentence structure, punctuation, and capitalization Become a better writer and get answers to all your questions about English Recognize and avoid common grammar mistakes and misuse of words Apply your grammar knowledge in everyday scenarios at work, in school, and in general communication Anyone who's new to the English language or needs a little refresher on tricky grammar rules will enjoy Basic English Grammar For Dummies. This book makes learning the English language accessible so you can feel confident at work, in school, and in life.

Discover a Deeper Connection with "69 More Short Haitian Stories for Intermediate Learners"! Elevate your journey in mastering the Haitian language with our meticulously curated collection, tailor-made for B1/B2 level learners. This sequel to our beginner's series delves into the heart of Haiti, offering a rich tapestry of stories that bridge the gap between language learning and cultural immersion. Why Choose "69 More Short Haitian Stories for Intermediate Learners" for Your Language Progression? Intermediate Focused: Each story is intricately crafted to challenge and engage intermediate learners, pushing the boundaries of your comprehension and expression in Haitian. Cultural Immersion: Beyond language, these stories serve as your portal into the depths of Haitian culture, history, and the soul-stirring landscapes that define this vibrant nation. Vocabulary Expansion: Enhance your vocabulary with essential, high-frequency words and phrases, seamlessly integrated into captivating narratives for effective learning and retention. Advanced Grammar in Context: Experience advanced grammatical structures woven naturally into each story, facilitating an intuitive understanding and mastery of complex language patterns. Interactive Learning: Solidify your knowledge with exercises designed to complement each story, testing comprehension and offering immediate feedback to aid in your progression. Standout Features of "69 More Short Haitian Stories for Intermediate Learners": Targeted Intermediate Content: Specifically designed for B1/B2 learners, this collection raises the bar, offering new challenges and opportunities for growth in your Haitian language journey. Deep Dive into Haitian Culture: Each story is a carefully painted scene of a handful of Haiti's traditions, daily life, and the hidden gems waiting to be discovered by the curious learner. Engaging and Effective: Say goodbye to monotonous language drills. Our stories make learning Haitian an adventure, captivating your interest while broadening your linguistic and cultural horizons. Unlock the Richness of Haitian Language and Culture: "69 More Short Haitian Stories for Intermediate Learners" is not just a book; it's a gateway to a deeper understanding and appreciation of the Haitian language. Ideal for anyone looking to enhance their fluency, travelers desiring to enrich their visit to Haiti, or those wishing to connect more profoundly with their Haitian heritage. Continue your Haitian language adventure with confidence. Secure your copy of "69 More Short Haitian Stories for Intermediate Learners" today and take a significant leap toward fluency and cultural comprehension!

Choose Barron's 501 Spanish Verbs for language learning--a trusted resource for over 50 years! This edition provides language learners with fingertip access to a carefully curated selection of the 501 most common Spanish verbs--in all tenses and moods! It is the perfect companion for students in high-school and college-level courses, or for anyone who wants to self-study. Each verb is listed alphabetically in chart form--one verb per page along with its English translation, present participle, and gerundio. Follow the clear, concise instruction, and then take your language fluency to the next level with an online activity center. Comprehensive Language Learning Lists of synonyms, antonyms, idioms, and usage examples for every verb A concise grammar review of tricky topics, organized for easy reference The popular 55 Essential Verbs feature, with an in-depth look at usage and formation for the most useful and challenging Spanish verbs Over 2,300 additional verbs conjugated like the 501 models English-Spanish Verb Index Numerous other features, such as: a pronunciation guide, weather expressions, subjunctive mood, defective and impersonal verbs, verbs that take prepositions, reflexive and reciprocal verbs, and more  More Practice Online Audio program modeling native speaker rhythms and pronunciation Listening comprehension 4 practice quizzes with detailed answer explanations and auto scoring  

A verb is a word which can assert something (usually an action) concerning a person, place, or thing. Most verbs express action. Some, however, merely express state or condition. A preposition is a word placed before a substantive to show its relation to some other word in the sentence. The substantive which follows a preposition is called its object and is in the objective case. A phrase consisting of a preposition and its object, with or without other words, is called a prepositional phrase. Conjunctions connect words or groups of words. Conjunctions are either coördinate or subordinate. An interjection is a cry or other exclamatory sound expressing surprise, anger, pleasure, or some other emotion or feeling. A clause is a group of words that forms part of a sentence and that contains a subject and a predicate. A clause used as a part of speech is called a subordinate clause.

This resource guide provides teachers many ideas on how to celebrate Haitian Heritage Month and integrate Haitian history and culture in their lessons throughout the year. It suggests schoolwide activities involving students, staff, parents, and community members. Haitian Heritage Month is the celebration of Haitian history, culture, and the contributions of this country and its people to the history of the world.

Ever dreamt of fluently speaking Portuguese? With NaturaLingua, that dream can become your reality in just 100 days, in the most natural, stress-free way imaginable - just like you learned your very first words. 🌱 Running out of time and feeling let down by all the resources you've tried? Look no further! NaturaLingua is the culmination of seven years of detailed research, bringing together techniques from the world's most esteemed polyglots to make your foray into Portuguese both seamless and highly effective. 📚 Imagine having a guide that thoroughly immerses you in Portuguese, fostering natural understanding and fluid conversations, all while carefully directing your daily learning path. Frustrated with traditional methods that just don't work? Natura Lingua is the breath of fresh air you need. Forget the tedious memorization and dense grammar books. Remember, your first language came to you through lively interaction, not dry drills. Natura Lingua introduces a natural, scientifically grounded approach, incorporating the latest in cognitive science and polyglot insights to make mastering Portuguese feel effortless and intuitive. Plunge into the Portuguese manual to uncover: A fresh, straightforward approach to deeply absorbing Portuguese. Gradual, step-by-step lessons that build on what you know while introducing new concepts. 1000 essential words to fast-track your ability to handle 80% of everyday conversations. A daily lesson for 100 days, designed for steady progress and rapid mastery of Portuguese. 100 real-world dialogues for hands-on experience from the start, bringing the Portuguese-speaking world to you. Clear pronunciation guides to ensure you speak Portuguese fluently and with confidence. Grammar pointers that make deciphering Portuguese syntax a breeze. Cultural insights to deepen your bond with the language and its heritage. 10 exciting challenges to put your newfound skills to the test and boost your learning journey. A comprehensive glossary of 1000 crucial words, all with English translations. A visual learning calendar to track your advancement and keep your motivation alight. 🎧 (🎁 FREE DOWNLOAD) Portuguese audio materials and flashcards for an engaging, interactive learning experience. About the author: Meet François Trésorier, a fervent polyglot and accelerated learning guru who has enabled over 31,400 learners from 94 countries to quickly fulfill their language aspirations. Short on time? Just 15 minutes a day can yield incredible progress in 100 days. Worried about being too old? When it comes to language learning, age is merely a figure. Concerned about costs? NaturaLingua offers exceptional value, making linguistic mastery more attainable than ever. Struggled in the past? The cognitive science approach of NaturaLingua could be the key you've been searching for. Just 15 minutes a day can set you on the path to fluency in Portuguese. Ready to take on this adventure? With NaturaLingua, speaking Portuguese is well within your reach. Time to move past outdated classroom techniques and generic apps. Embrace a learning method as natural and intuitive as your first language. Your Portuguese journey begins with lesson one. See you there! 🚀

Perfect for students studying Italian, this newly updated bilingual dictionary features comprehensive, up-to-date coverage of essential current vocabulary. Communicate effectively in Italian and American English Bilingual, bidirectional dictionary 40,000 entry words and phrases and 58,000 translations Clear, precise definitions deliver the words you need IPA pronunciations and abundant examples of words used in context guide correct usage Special sections include English Irregular Verbs, Italian Verb Forms, and numbers, dates, and time in both languages. A perfect translation tool for teachers, travelers, and language learners of all skill levels. Developed in cooperation with Collins.

Everything you need to speak Polish quickly and confidently Polish For Dummies gets you started with Polish language basics, so you can communicate with friends and loved ones, work and travel in Poland, or just enjoy the excitement of learning a new language. You'll learn the foundations of Polish grammar and how to engage in basic conversations. With the tried-and-true Dummies language learning method, you'll start speaking authentically right away, so you can interact in everyday situations. You'll also learn about social and cultural references that will help you keep up in Polish conversations. With access to audio files for dialogs in the book, you can improve your listening and pronunciation, too. This book makes it easy and practical to become a Polish speaker. Learn tips and tricks for improving your Polish language skills Access helpful verb conjugation tables, essential vocabulary lists, and straightforward pronunciation guides Master everyday words and phrases Discover Polish history, culture, and common colloquial expressions Polish For Dummies is perfect for anyone who wants to learn the basics of the Polish language or brush up on what they already know--no previous experience needed.

Learn to speak Latin American Spanish with confidence--the easy way Spanish For Dummies gets you started with the Spanish language, even if you've never learned a language before. The trusted Dummies language learning method is quick and practical, so you'll know what to say and do when traveling to a Spanish-speaking country or interacting with Spanish speakers in your community. You'll learn the basics of Spanish grammar and pronunciation, and then you'll explore common phrases you'll need in everyday situations. Get ready to study, work, or travel abroad--or integrate Spanish into your everyday life. This essential resource helps you make small talk, understand common expressions, navigate business settings, ask for directions, go to the doctor, and beyond. Learn how Latin American Spanish works--grammar, pronunciation, and important constructions Build your vocabulary and learn common expressions you'll hear while abroad Brush up your conversation skills with authentic dialogues, plus follow along with online audio Get practice reading, writing, and speaking Spanish, so you're ready to communicate effectively With Spanish For Dummies, students, travelers, and business professionals can gain the confidence to converse in Spanish.

This new edition of the bestselling Language for Life shows how language can be mastered by children and how what they have learned can be carried throughout their lives. An indispensable guidebook for teachers, it delivers explicit, step-by-step English language instruction via lessons in syntax, grammar, morphology, etymology, and punctuation, and arms students with the mental skill of thinking about language. This in turn helps children learn much more easily from the language around them. New features for this edition include: an increased focus on the relationship between knowledge of parts of speech and morphology to proficiency as a writer creating a metalanguage between student and teacher that encourages clear two-way feedback an increased focus on knowledge-building using factual topics as exemplars. Language for Life is a proven programme that is built upon years of experience. Lyn Stone's pragmatic and modern approach is supported by feedback from teachers and students alike who have attended her numerous classes and workshops. This book helps teachers: learn more about language structure, guide the development of skills to write accurately and in increasing volume, and support the emergence of clear and organised thinking for writing. Brimming with vital information suitable for both basic and advanced level students, this book is an essential tool for all teachers wishing to give their students the best preparation possible to meet the demands of the modern world. Photocopiable worksheets throughout the book put teachers in the position of linguistic expert, guiding students through an enriching journey of language discovery and creativity.

Learn more than 6,000 useful words and phrases in Polish with this engaging illustrated dictionary. The Polish English Bilingual Visual Dictionary is your essential companion to learning Polish-from the million-copy bestselling Bilingual Visual Dictionary series. This handy pocket-size guide has over 6,750 fully illustrated words and phrases in Polish and English, along with a free bilingual audio app. Learn all the words and phrases you need to buy food and clothes, talk about work and education, visit the doctor, go to the bank, use public transport, and much more. This Polish-English visual dictionary includes: A fully illustrated bilingual guide for adults. Updated and revised content with new images and vocabulary. A fully updated audio app that allows you to hear all words in both languages. A new edition from the global bestselling Bilingual Visual Dictionary series. Perfect for students, tourists, and business travelers, the dictionary is incredibly easy to follow, with thematically organized vocabulary so you can find closely related words on a particular topic. Words and phrases are illustrated with full-color photographs and artworks, helping to fix new vocabulary in your mind. The supporting audio app enables you to hear all the words and phrases spoken out loud in both languages to help you learn, remember, and pronounce important vocabulary.

The exercises in composition found in the numbered Lessons of this book are generally confined to the illustration and the practical application of the principles of the science as these principles are developed step by step. To break up the continuity of the text by thrusting unrelated composition work between lessons closely related and mutually dependent is exceedingly unwise. The Composition Exercises suggested in this revision of "Graded Lessons" are designed to review the regular Lessons and to prepare in a broad, informal way for text work that follows. But since these Exercises go much farther, and teach the pupil how to construct paragraphs and how to observe and imitate what is good in different authors, they are placed in a supplement, and not between consecutive Lessons of the text. To let such general composition work take the place of the regular grammar lesson, say once a week, will be profitable. We suggest that the sentence work on the selections in the Supplement be made to follow Lessons 30, 40, 50, 60, 70, 77; but each teacher must determine for himself when these and the other outlined lessons can best be used. We advise that other selections from literature be made and these exercises continued with the treatment of the parts of speech. For composition work to precede Lesson 30 we suggest that the teacher break up a short story of one or two paragraphs into simple sentences, making some of these transposed, some interrogative, and some exclamatory.