Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Freeport Memorial Library has many reference books related to health and medicine. You can browse the reference shelves using the call number 610. Books designated RR are Ready Reference books and are located behind the Reference Desk. To use Ready Reference books in the Library, you must leave identification with the the Reference Librarian.
Click here to search the catalog.
If you cannot find what you are looking for, ask a librarian!
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders - DSM-5 by
Call Number: RR 616.8907
Publication Date: 2013-05-22
This new edition of Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5#65533;), used by clinicians and researchers to diagnose and classify mental disorders, is the product of more than 10 years of effort by hundreds of international experts in all aspects of mental health. Their dedication and hard work have yielded an authoritative volume that defines and classifies mental disorders in order to improve diagnoses, treatment, and research. The criteria are concise and explicit, intended to facilitate an objective assessment of symptom presentations in a variety of clinical settings -- inpatient, outpatient, partial hospital, consultation-liaison, clinical, private practice, and primary care. New features and enhancements make DSM-5#65533; easier to use across all settings: * The chapter organization reflects a lifespan approach, with disorders typically diagnosed in childhood (such as neurodevelopmental disorders) at the beginning of the manual, and those more typical of older adults (such as neurocognitive disorders) placed at the end. Also included are age-related factors specific to diagnosis. * The latest findings in neuroimaging and genetics have been integrated into each disorder along with gender and cultural considerations.* The revised organizational structure recognizes symptoms that span multiple diagnostic categories, providing new clinical insight in diagnosis. * Specific criteria have been streamlined, consolidated, or clarified to be consistent with clinical practice (including the consolidation of autism disorder, Asperger's syndrome, and pervasive developmental disorder into autism spectrum disorder; the streamlined classification of bipolar and depressive disorders; the restructuring of substance use disorders for consistency and clarity; and the enhanced specificity for major and mild neurocognitive disorders).* Dimensional assessments for research and validation of clinical results have been provided.* Both ICD-9-CM and ICD-10-CM codes are included for each disorder, and the organizational structure is consistent with the new ICD-11 in development. The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, is the most comprehensive, current, and critical resource for clinical practice available to today's mental health clinicians and researchers of all orientations. The information contained in the manual is also valuable to other physicians and health professionals, including psychologists, counselors, nurses, and occupational and rehabilitation therapists, as well as social workers and forensic and legal specialists.
The Merck Manual Home Health Handbook by
Call Number: RR 616 M
Publication Date: 2009-10-13
The World's most widely used medical reference. No home should be without it. This comprehensive medical resource, The Merck Manual - - Third Home Edition, extensively covers health care for newborns, the elderly, and everyone in between. The new Third Home Edition provides the same authoritative information doctors have relied on in The Merck Manual, for more than a century, in easy-to-understand, everyday language. Previous editions have sold more than 3 million copies. Written by more than 200 internationally respected medical experts, this new edition of the world's bestselling reference presents in-depth information for medical situations, including: Aging Gynecological Disorders Heart disease Digestive disorders Cancer Nutrition problems AIDS Hormonal problems Infections and immunizations Neurological Disorders Pediatric Disorders Men's, women's and children's health issues Mental health disorders Accidents and injuries Care for the dying And much more...
The Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy by
Call Number: RR 615.5805
Publication Date: 2011-07-20
The world's most widely used medical reference is now better than ever! For its 19th Edition, the Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy has been thoroughly updated and thoughtfully expanded, with more than 850 additional pages, 15 new chapters, over 300 new tables, and 56 new figures. Packed with essential information on diagnosing and treating medical disorders, this handy, compact guide was written by a team of clinicians for everyday use by medical professionals for delivery of the best care to their patients. Designed for maximum clinical utility, the new Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy 19th edition makes it easy to find the right information, right when it is needed. It is a must-have for medical students, residents, practicing physicians, nurses, and allied health professionals. Free 1-year Mobile App Access when you purchase the printed manual. The Skyscape mobile version, available for Blackberry#65533; and Android™ devices, the iPhone#65533; and Windows Mobile#65533; phones, and other popular platforms, uses technology to transform the answers found in The Merck Manual into action.
America's Top Doctors by
Call Number: RR 610.695 C
Publication Date: 2015-01-15
America's Top Doctors is the national guide that identifies more than 6,700 top specialists throughout the U.S. in more than 65 medical specialties and subspecialties for the care and treatment of more than 1,700 diseases and medical conditions. These outstanding doctors represent the top 1% in the nation. Also contains detailed information about some of the nation's most outstanding major medical centers and specialty hospitals. The physician profiles are arranged by specialty or subspecialty and are organized geographically within each specialty/subspecialty. Search by disease, condition, procedure or technique by using the Special Interest Index or by name in the Alphabetical Listing of Doctors.
America's Top Doctors for Cancer by
Call Number: RR 610.92 C
Publication Date: 2011-11-01
Castle Connolly's America's Top DoctorsR for Cancer represents the much-needed and long-overdue answer for consumers - and physicians - seeking the top cancer specialists. Castle Connolly's physician-led Research Team has tackled some of the tough issues and developed criteria for selection. Castle Connolly's well respected national survey process that has enabled them to identify the leading physicians in more than twenty medical specialties associated with the prevention, diagnosis and treatment of cancers. The breadth and depth of the information they offer on each included physician will enable readers to be empowered consumers and to make informed decisions about the right doctor for their particular type of cancer. The guide also includes valuable information on some of the nation's most outstanding medical centers and specialty hospitals that are involved in the treatment of cancers.
Top Doctors New York Metro Area by
Call Number: RR 610.25 T
Publication Date: 2015-02-01
Top Doctors: New York Metro Area is the authoritative guide to finding the top primary care and specialty care doctors in the tri-state metropolitan New York area, with profiles of more than 6,500 top primary care and specialty care physicians in a twenty county area spanning three states - New York, New Jersey and Connecticut - who represent the top 10% of doctors in the area in more than 67 medical specialties and subspecialties for the care and treatment of more than 2,100 diseases and medical conditions. Also has detailed information regarding many of the leading medical centers, hospitals and specialty hospitals in the New York Metro area.
The Color Atlas of Human Anatomy by
Call Number: R 611.0022 C
Publication Date: 2006-09-28
This classic guide to human anatomy will be welcomed by students and health professionals alike--as well as anyone fascinated by science. Organized by anatomical region--the most common method of studying the body in anatomy and biology courses--and rigorously indexed, this essential medical reference is the fruit of an intensive collaboration between internationally recognized scientists, dissectors, and graphic artists. It’s astoundingly rich in information: 650 detailed illustrations, including topographical, schematic, and sectional images, provide a comprehensive map of the human body’s organ systems in lifelike full color. From systemic anatomy and the body wall to the central nervous system, visual organs, and orbital cavity, it’s all here. Superbly drawn and meticulously labeled illustrations follow the most current International Anatomical Terminology, adopted by the International Federation of Associations of Anatomists in 1998. The Color Atlas of Human Anatomy is the authoritative, practical guide to the body’s complexities.
Gray's Anatomy by
Call Number: R 611 G
Publication Date: 1995-12-25
The most trusted name in anatomy! Readers will benefit from 2100 superb, high-quality illustrations, thorough coverage of important topics such as the structure and function of each body system, anatomical aspects of common surgical techniques, cross-sectional imaging, the anatomy encountered during endoscopic surgery, and more. "Stands alone as the greatest single reference in anatomy." (Radiology, review of a previous edition of Gray's Anatomy). Spanish version also available, ISBN: 84-8174-384-4
Dorland's Illustrated Medical Dictionary by
Call Number: R 610.3 D
Publication Date: 2011-05-02
Thoroughly updated, this user-friendly reference, trusted for more than a century by healthcare personnel at every professional level, allows you to grasp the meanings of all medical terms in current usage. Understand and correctly use all the latest terminology in today's ever-evolving medical field with the 32nd Edition of the comprehensive, highly respected Dorlands Illustrated Medical Dictionary! Enhance your understanding of all the current medical terminology in your field by relying on the most comprehensive and highly respected medical dictionary, bringing you more than 120,000 well-defined entries and 1500 clear illustrations. Listen to 35,000 audio pronunciations. Search www.Dorlands.com on the Internet anytime, anywhere for all of the language integral to contemporary medicine. Make sure you're familiar with the very latest medical terms used today with more than 5,500 new entries drawn from current sources. Complement your understanding of new words and ideas in medicine with 500 new illustrations Get more information in a smaller amount of space as the revised entry format includes related parts of speech. Dorland's: The first and last word in medicine for over 110 years
Mosby's Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing and Health Professions by
Call Number: R 610.3 M
Publication Date: 2012-09-18
So much more than just a bestselling dictionary, Mosby's Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing & Health Professions, 9th Edition is a one-stop reference to help you make sense of the complex world of health care. It features over 56,000 authoritative definitions, 45 appendixes, a color atlas of the human body, online resources, and more than 2,450 full-color illustrations - nearly three times more than any other dictionary available - making it an indispensable reference for students and professionals alike. UNIQUE! More than 2,450 color photographs and line drawings demonstrate and explain complex conditions and abstract concepts. A Color Atlas of Human Anatomy contains 43 pages of clearly labeled drawings for easy A&P review and reference. Over 56,000 comprehensive, authoritative, high-quality definitions - including expanded definitions for selected entries, particularly major diseases, disorders, and procedures - offer the latest information on pathophysiology, treatment and interventions, and nursing care. 23 appendixes - 13 in the dictionary and 10 on the companion Evolve website - offer quick access to useful reference information, such as lab values, symbols and abbreviations, language translation guides, pharmacology, infection control standards, conversion tables, and clinical calculations. A strict, common-sense alphabetical organization with no subentries makes it easy to find key terms and definitions. NEW! Over 300 new and updated illustrations visually clarify key definitions and reflect current health care practice and equipment. NEW! Approximately 11,000 new and revised definitions reflect the latest developments in health care, drugs, and nursing terminology. NEW! Editor Marie O'Toole, EdD, RN, FAAN lends her expertise to this new edition, reviewing and revising all definitions and assembling a team of leading consultants and contributors.
Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary
Call Number: R 610 T
Publication Date: 2017-01-31
In hand, online or mobile...the all-in-one, go-to source for classroom, clinic, and beyond. See what students are saying about the previous edition... Thorough reference book "I could have googled a lot of the terms instead of buying this, but I really like having a physical copy of reference materials. This book has done a good job of defining medical terms. It is better than Google because you don''t pull up 14 different things with similar names--ONLY the medical definition." --R. M. Cook Great resource for nursing students! "The Bible for Nurses creating care plans! Has everything you will need; disease definition, symptoms, NANDA''s, interventions. A must-have for students!" --Dora Duran Required textbook for first-year nursing school, but it will serve me well for many years "My favorite aspect is that it came with a 1-year subscription to Taber''s Online." --PD Smith Taber''s brings meanings to life. Put the language of nursing, medicine and the healthcare professions at your fingertips. In hand, online, or on your mobile device--anywhere and everywhere, Taber''s 23 is the all-in-one, go-to source in the classroom, clinical, and beyond. Under the editorial direction of Donald Venes, MD, MSJ, a team of expert consulting editors and consultants representing nearly every health care profession ensures that the content reflects the most current healthcare information. FREE, 1-year subscription to Taber''s Online, powered by Unbound Medicine--puts all of the knowledge of Taber''s at your fingertips. Videos and animations--demonstrate common procedures, a brief physical assessment, and physiological processes Over 33,000 audio pronunciations--build speaking confidence. Go beyond the book... An access code inside new printed texts unlocks a wealth of DavisPlus Student Premium resources that make learning and studying easier, while another code unlocks the free, 1-year subscription to Taber''s Online.