Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Language Learning Print Resources
Swedish-English Dictionary by
Call Number: Language Learning 439.732 B
Publication Date: 1995
A fully bilingual, portable reference for home and travel.
501 French Verbs by
Call Number: Language Learning 448.2421 K
Publication Date: 2003-08-01
The new, updated edition of this popular book of French verbs and general language guide is now printed in two colors for increased ease of reference. The most important and most commonly used French verbs are presented alphabetically in chart form, one verb per page, and conjugated in all persons and tenses, both active and passive. This thorough guide to the use of verbs features many additional references and tips, including a bilingual list of more than 1,250 additional French verbs, helpful expressions and idioms for travelers, and verb drills and tests with questions answered and explained. French language students will also find an index of English-French verbs, a section on verbs used in French idiomatic expressions, and more than 1,000 additional French regular verbs conjugated like the book's model verbs.
501 Latin Verbs by
Call Number: Language Learning 478.2421 P
Publication Date: 1995-05-01
Classical language students and teachers at all levels will value this textbook supplement. Regular, irregular, and defective verbs are each given a full page, with principle parts and complete conjugations.
Russian Grammar by
Call Number: Language Learning 491.78 L
Publication Date: 1999-05-31
A comprehensive exposition of Russian grammar with clear explanations in simple language, designed to promote quick understanding of the basic concepts. Exercises are included.
Collins English-GreeK Dictionary by
Call Number: Language Learning 489.32 C
Publication Date: 2005
Modern Greek to English Dictionary. Small. portable, and easy yo use.
301 Polish Verbs by
Call Number: Language Learning 491.8 J
Publication Date: 2000-02-01
The most commonly used Polish verbs are listed alphabetically, one verb per page, and fully conjugated in a table format. Other helpful features for both language students and travelers include English-Polish and Polish-English verb indexes listing nearly 2300 verbs, and common Polish idioms using verbs. The book also features puzzles, Polish proverbs, self-tests, and other aids designed to improve students' familiarity with and usage of Polish verbs.
Call Number: Language Learning 439.31 S
Publication Date: 2002-05-10
Dutch: An Essential Grammar shows, step by step, how the language is constructed. It presents a lively and accessible description of the language using plenty of relevant examples. Particular attention is paid to areas of difficulty for English speakers. With a range of suporting exercises and lavish use of illustration, this is the ideal first grammar for the Dutch learner.
Modern German Pronunciation by
Call Number: Language Learning 438.3 H
Publication Date: 2003-05-29
The most complete guide available to the correct pronunciation of German for native English speakers. Revised and updated, a new feature for this edition is that the discussion of English-speaking learners' pronunciation problems has been extended to include American learners, reflecting the worldwide usage of the first volume. Each chapter deals with a separate aspect of the problems of modern German pronunciation; vowels, consonants, stress and intonation, and the reduced ('weak') forms of conversational pronunciation. Comprehensively illustrated with clear pronunciation and intonation diagrams emphasising common problems experienced when learning German. The Manchester University Press website also gives readers access to nineteen audio files which complement the content of the book, providing examples of pronunciation, stress and intonation, and listening exercises.
Gaelic English, English Gaelic Practical Dictionary by
Call Number: Language Learning 423.9163 B
Publication Date: 1999-11-01
This book is a fascinating and up-to-date guide to the Celtic language of the Western Highlands and Islands of Scotland. At the wake of the new millennium it becomes once again an important part of Scotland's culture.
English Haitian Creole Dictionary by
Call Number: Language Learning 423.417 V
Publication Date: 2005-01-01
French, English, Haitian Creole word to word dictionary. Assists with Creole dialects.
Oxford Picture Dictionary by
Call Number: Language Learning 423 A
Publication Date: 2008-09-05
Content is organized within 12 thematic units, from Everyday Language, to People, to Housing, to Food, to Recreation. Each unit starts with an 'Intro' page (new to this edition) and ends with a story page, with single or double-page sub-topics introducing new words in a realistic visual context and easy-to-learn 'chunks'. The target new vocabulary is listed, and simple practice activities help students to put their new words into practice. Story pages includepre-reading questions to build previewing and predicting skills, and post-reading questions and role-play activities to support critical thinking and to encourage students to use the new language they have learned. Rich visual contexts recycle words from the unit. Thisstructure is designed to address the needs of multilevel classrooms, with much more guidance on this and on assessing needs and lesson-planning given in the supporting components (available in English only).
Italian All-in-One for Dummies® by
Call Number: Language Learning 458.34 D
Publication Date: 2013-09-03
Learn to speak Italian like a native? Easy. Italian All-in-One For Dummies appeals to those readers looking for a comprehensive, all-encompassing guide to mastering the Italian language. It contains content from all For Dummies Italian language instruction titles, including Italian For Dummies, Intermediate Italian For Dummies, Italian Verbs For Dummies, Italian Phrases For Dummies, Italian Grammar For Dummies, and Italian For Dummies Audio Set. Offers readers interested in learning Italian a valuable reference to all aspects of this popular language The content appeals to students, travelers, and businesspeople who visit Italian-speaking countries An online companion site allows you to download audio tracks allows for more practice opportunities, as well as additional content empowering you to speak Italian like a native Whether you′re a pure beginner or have some familiarity with the language, Italian All-in-One For Dummies, with downloadable audio practice online, is your ticket to speaking, and writing, Italian.
501 Spanish Verbs by
Call Number: Language Learning 468 K
Publication Date: 2007-01-01
The World's Best Selling Verb Book-- and with good reason! Fluency in Spanish starts with knowledge of verbs--and Barron's 501 Spanish Verbs shows students and travelers exactly how to use the 501 most common and useful Spanish verbs in all 16 tenses and moods. Each verb is alphabetically listed in easy-to-follow chart form, one verb per page with its English translation. Important added features include-- Formation and usage of Spanish verb tenses and moods summarized as they relate to their English equivalents The 55 most essential Spanish verbs specially highlighted and supplemented with sample sentences and related words and expressions Progressive forms of Spanish verbs Formation of present and past participles Passive and active voice formations Principal parts of important Spanish verbs Sentences demonstrating Spanish verb usage in all tenses with English translations 26 sets of exercises in Spanish verb usage with answers explained Two-color type for ease of reference A-to-Z page edges marked in second color for quick reference to verbs Plus enlightening appendixes that cover-- Defective and impersonal verbs A guide to Spanish pronunciation Verbs used in weather expressions Verbs with prepositions An index of common irregular Spanish verb forms English-Spanish verb index List of more than 2,100 Spanish verbs! Every verb on the list is related to a model verb that's conjugated in the same way. Enclosed with each book is a brand-new CD-ROM filled with-- Sentence completion exercises Dialogue exercises Word Completion exercises Word Puzzles Matching Spanish and English phrases Unlike software enclosed with verb books from other publishers, Barron's CD-ROM concentrates exclusively on teaching verb usage that applies to reading, writing, and speaking in Spanish. The instructive and fun-to-do exercises and puzzles come with an audio option that demonstrates correct Spanish pronunciation. Barron's CD-ROM is also more adaptable than the others because you can download it on any PC® or Mac®. 501 Spanish Verbs plus CD-ROM--a great language learning program! It's an invaluable classroom supplement for students and teachers, a self-teaching guide for international travelers, and a handy reference volume for translators. Students quickly discover that learning Spanish becomes easier with this book/CD-ROM combination because it teaches verbs and verb usage systematically. In addition to the 501 verb tables, the authors have provided a wealth of additional features that will help students develop a truly comprehensive command of Spanish for speaking, reading, writing, and listening comprehension. There's a reason other publishers imitate 501 Spanish Verbs. After almost 50 years on the market, Barron's verb books are still the best! Choose the original!
Beginner's Chinese Dictionary by
Call Number: Language Learning 495.632 D
Publication Date: 2005-01-15
This is an ideal dictionary for students of the Chinese language "This small dictionary contains a wealth of information essential to beginning students of Chinese. It meets the growing need for a high–quality, user–friendly dictionary for use by foreigners wishing to learn Chinese. The many example sentences given will also be very helpful to Chinese students of Enlisgh."—Professor Tian Sanji, Dean of the College of Culture, Beijing Language and Culture University TheBeginner's Chinese Dictionary is specifically designed for learners of Chinese. It covers over 1,800 vocabulary items, including all 1,000+ vocabulary items prescribed for Level A of the standard test of proficiency in Chinese, the Hanyu Shuiping Kaoshi (HSK). Entries are arranged alphabetically according to thepinyin transliteration. For each character, the radical and stroke count are given. An analysis of word formation is also provided to aid understanding of how words of two or more syllables are formed. Sample sentences are presented in Chinese characters withpinyin and English equivalents, to show how each headword should be used. A radical and character index allows quick access to any headword. English–Chinese and Chinese–English sections. Entries arranged alphabetically bypinyin transliteration. Includes all words for standard HSK level A proficiency test. Sample sentences demonstrate how to use words correctly. Characters andpinyin for all headwords and examples. Introduces and explains radicals, stroke counts, and components. Key character components are given for easy recognition. Useful notes on culture, grammar and usage provided.