Provides unprecedented access to family history via documents that record the lineage of individuals from the United States, Canada, the United Kingdom, Europe, Australia, and more. This database is a genealogical research tool that provides access to more than 4 billion names in more than 7,000 databases, including census records, passenger lists, and the UK & Ireland Connection. It is the library version of Ancestry.com.
New / Trial Databases
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Freegal Music is a free music service. Download and/or stream music on any compatible device. Use the app to stream up to 8 hours of music per day, and download (and keep) 3 songs per week. The Freegal site offers access to about 15 million songs, including Sony Music's catalog of legendary artists.
A digital media service offered by your local public library that allows you to borrow movies, music, audiobooks, ebooks, comics and TV shows to enjoy on your computer, tablet, or phone – and even your TV! Titles can be streamed immediately, or downloaded to phones or tablets for offline enjoyment later. We have hundreds of thousands of titles to choose from, with more being added daily. hoopla is like having your public library at your fingertips. Anytime. Anywhere.
Kanopy is a video streaming platform with access to over 30,000 films (movies and documentaries) from producers such as Criterion Collection, PBS, Media Education Foundation and more.
Learning Express Computer Skills Center
Learn the fundamentals of computers, the internet and popular software applications with Computer Skills, a user-friendly e-learning platform that contains more than 100 self-paced video tutorials. Topics Include: Computer and internet basics, including social media, popular Microsoft software applications, including Access, Excel and Office 365, popular Adobe graphics and illustration tools, including Photoshop, and Windows Operating Systems.
eterson's Test Prep: This valuable resource includes full-length practice tests for GED, SAT, ACT, AP, PSAT, GRE, LSAT, MCAT, TOEFL, U.S. citizenship, and more. It offers information on undergraduate and graduate programs and tuition and scholarship assistance, as well as a resume builder and interviewing advice.
Peterson's Career Prep: Get career ready with tools that prompts users to think about what they want in a job or career. Build and edit a résumé and learn tips focused on writing résumés and cover letters, networking, and interviewing. Search careers and jobs industry, experience level, or match strength. An included military crosswalk allows patrons to map any past military service to potential new civilian career paths.