Skip to main content

Local History Resources: Digital Collection (Photographs and Images)

Long Island Memories Digital Collection

Freeport Digital Collection

In the fall of 2004, the Freeport Memorial Library was invited to join the Long Island Memories’ digitization initiative sponsored by the Long Island Libraries Resources Council. The goal of this project is to create a database of items pertaining to Long Island history and make these items accessible through the internet. The Library began by scanning the Freeport Historical Society extensive post card collection.  Other collections soon followed including: the 1908 book Freeport Long Island Illustrated; a three-volume set of photographs compiled by John DeLorme; photographs of vaudevillians who lived in Freeport; and photographs from the opening of Jones Beach.

In 2005, the Long Island Libraries Resources Council received a grant to begin digitizing local newspapers.  Due to Freeport’s commitment to the digitization project we were asked to be the first Library to participate in this phase of the digitization project.  Nineteen rolls of microfilm representing Freeport newspapers from 1895 to 1921 are now available, fully searchable on the digitization site. The Freeport Leader from 1940 to current was also added to project. 

In addition to photographs, postcards, and newspapers, the digital project now includes meeting minutes from the William Clinton Story American Legion Post 342 for the years 1919 to 1927; Village of Freeport newsletters for the years 1952 to 2009, and music scores, playbills, Freeport Memorial Library board minutes, and programs from the Freeport Historical Society’s extensive vaudeville collection.

In 2015, Long Island Memories became part of state-wide digitization initiative New York Heritage.  That same year, Freeport's newspaper collection was moved to the New York State Historic Newspapers' database.

The collaboration between Library and the Historical Society has made authoritative information and historical images of Freeport more accessible to all generations of Freeporters.  Today, Freeport’s digital collection includes over 6,000 images and seven newspapers.

Queens Public Library

The Archives @ Queens Library maintains a digital collection of Long Island history. 

Click here for access to this collection.

Quick link to material related to Freeport in this collection.

 

New York Heritage

New York Heritage is a research portal for students, educators, historians, genealogists, and anyone else who is interested in learning more about the people, places and institutions of New York State. The site provides free access to more than 170 distinct digital collections. 

Click here to access this collection.

Notable Local Collections:

New York Public Library Digital Collections

NYPL Digital Collection spans a wide range of historical eras, geography, and media.  This site offers drawings, illuminated manuscripts, maps, photographs, posters, prints, rare illustrated books, videos, audio, and more.

Click here to access this collection.

Quick link to materials related to Freeport in this collection.

 

Library of Congess

The Prints and Photographs Online Catalog (PPOC) contains catalog records and digital images representing a rich cross-section of still pictures held by the Prints & Photographs Division and, in some cases, other units of the Library of Congress. The Library of Congress offers broad public access to these materials as a contribution to education and scholarship.

To search this collection, click here.

Quick links to this collection:

Freeport, Long Island

Freeport, New York

Freeport, NY

Carman Murder Case

Willow Brook Estates

Digital Public Library of America

Digital Public Library of America is a U.S. project aimed at providing public access to digital holdings (maps, manuscripts, monographs) as a public digital library.

Click here to access this collection.

 

Preservation Long Island

Preservation Long Island (formerly the Society for the Preservation of Long Island Antiquities) is a not-for-profit organization committed to working with Long Islanders to protect, preserve, and celebrate our cultural heritage through advocacy, education, and the stewardship of historic sites and collections.

To access Preservation Long Island's digital collection, click here.